Vegetable quinoa with sweet potato frites

Monday 29th June 2015

DSC_1577

Every lunch time I am always wondering what to make. Should I go all out by making a technical dish, which takes time and lots of effort, or should I stick to a quick an easy recipe with little technical skill?. But then I discovered this brilliant recipe which combines really beneficial fresh ingredients, requiring little effort, whilst providing a magnificent flavour sensational. I found this recipe from my favourite you tuber and Blogger Niomi smart In her (what I eat in a day blog). I had to try it out because I love quinoa. However, I find myself cooking the same old quinoa recipes again and again, such as the crispy quinoa cakes I made a previous blog post on, I fancied a new and exciting change.

DSC_1580

This recipe took me less than an hour to prepare and I still had left overs, which would be great for the next day. The variety of vegetables in the dish, liven up the simplistic quinoa ,adding great textures which set of an explosion of senses in the mouth. I just leaves you with a smile on your face. I love recipes which leave a positive impression on both the mind and the body.

DSC_1544

Ingredients

2-3 small sweet potatoes

Salt

Ground white pepper powder, or regular ground pepper

2 tablespoons of olive oil

½ cup white or mixed quinoa

1 cup boiling water

1 Tablespoons of lime juice or ½ lime

½ courgette

2 small carrots

½ red onion

1/6 piece of butternut squash

4 chopped baby tomatoes

1 teaspoons of crushed chilli powder

½ tin kidney beans

Pre heat the oven to 180c

Take the sweet potato, once peeled chop into evenly sized chip shapes, but do not make them to wafer thin or then will burn . Scatter them evenly of a baking dish or tray and then drizzle with some olive oil and season with salt and pepper. If you are feeling adventurous you can season your chips with some chilli powder giving them a lively kick. One of my favourite seasonings to use is fresh or ground and dried rosemary, I don’t know where I would be without it.

DSC_1548DSC_1550

DSC_1553

Pop the chips into a pre heated oven for up to 30 minutes until they have a crisp texture, but make sure they do not burn, so keep checking on them until you think they are ready.

DSC_1556

Whilst the sweet potato chips are cooking you can prepare the vegetable quinoa. Firstly rinse the raw quinoa well in order to get rid on the earthy taste and loosen the texture, then put it into a medium sized pan over a medium heat. Boil 1 cup of water in the kettle and then add the hot water to a small cup with the broken up vegetable stock cube. The vegetable stock is an important component essential for adding flavour, you can use an organic vegetable stock if you wish, such as the kallo rage but I had ran out. Then transfer the cup of dissolved vegetable stock into the pan of quinoa and let it simmer for up to 30 minutes, until the quinoa has lost most of the water in the pan. You can prepare the vegetables on a chopping board, while you wait for the quinoa to simmer. Cut the vegetables into small chunks.

DSC_1557

DSC_1560

DSC_1564

Then stir in all the vegetables a bit of lime juice and ½ a can of kidney beans. Plate up the meal in any way you like, I placed the sweet potato chips in a small cute metal bucket which I got from ikea. I just love to add a little creativity and class to my meal, plus it looks super cute. I put the vegetable quinoa in a round dinner serving circle template, the idea sounds a bit weird but I got the inspiration from MasterChef, and just love plating the quinoa in such a way that it stands out as a vivid statement. Finally I added a bit of spinach to the plate,you can make a side salad If you wish ,which goes great with quinoa.

DSC_1567

DSC_1568 DSC_1569

DSC_1572

DSC_1577

So why not try out this fabulous health beneficial dish, its vegan friends, wheat friendly and contains no dairy.

2 thoughts on “Vegetable quinoa with sweet potato frites

Leave a Reply

