The healthy breakfast craze



Wednesday 17th June 2015

I think that we should all eat a healthy breakfast, as it is the most important meal of the day. I love breakfast, it’s great when you wake up and know that you can start a fresh detox of your body and regain loads of energy.

Since being introduced to a plant based lifestyle, after realising all the amazing health benefits, I have ditched boring old toast, cereal and greasy fry-ups. Swapping for a health alternative for my breakfast which not only tastes a millions times better, but give me more energy throughout the day, enabling me to avoid snacking and keeping in good shape. Its feels good to wake up in the morning and have a healthy breakfast as it sets me up for the day, and I know I can then face any challenges that confront me.

Everyone rushing around in the morning is a common sign in my household and it’s probably the same for many others. Over time I have developed my favourite breakfasts which I stick to as they are so easy to prepare but taste great whilst delivering the required nutritional value.

01b424193fceb211495096776bfb00b7ccef8edf76

  • On weekday mornings I normally have a really nutritious healthy porridge with loads of super seeds, fresh and dried fruit with either hemp or almond milk (it depends on what I have available, but I do find hemp milk has a nicer, creamier taste).

IMG_2052

IMG_2037IMG_2042

Chia seeds are a must in any porridge, if you are looking for a super nutritious option. Chia seeds might be unheard of, but they are really beneficial, they provide a source of fibre, omega 3 and protein. They slowly release energy throughout the day to your body, so you won’t feel hungry before lunch.

mzlor

IMG_2049

I used to really hate porridge when I was younger because my mum made it really gooey, but when I found out about the thousands of topping and filling and different flavouring I was hooked. However, my brother does still think I am weird for liking porridge as all he eats are Kellogg’s Kraves. The perfect porridge consistency is not too runny but not hard like a brick, it’s got to be smooth and creamy. I normally make my porridge in the microwave as it saves time and washing up, so it’s handy when I am in a rush (which is usually every weekday). I then go crazy with fruit, nuts and seeds and sometimes put bits of red berry granola from Superfoodies on top to add a fruitier taste with a bit more texture.

IMG_2054

  • However I might have a chia seed pudding, an easy recipe I created myself, with a scattering of granola, seeds, nuts, dried and fresh fruit.

IMG_2077

The chia seed pudding is simply a couple of table spoons of chia seeds, which have been soaking with 3-4 tablespoons of water until it is a jelly consistency (I find that if you soak the chia seeds oversight the pudding is much more stable).

n0koh

Then I mix the chia seeds with plain Alpro yogurt, 1-2 tablespoons of milled flaxseed with goji berries and 1 table spoon of some linseed.

IMG_2094IMG_2095

 Finally I scatter various fruit and nut topping on top of the pudding. I used 3 dates, 2 figs and 2 prunes which have been cut up into smaller pieces with 1 tablespoon of sunflower seeds, 1 tablespoon of linseeds, a couple of almonds and a bit of red granola.

IMG_2096

This breakfast idea is my favourite I just love the creamy texture and the array of fresh flavours and colours, plus I do not feel guilty when I have finished because I am getting loads of nutrition in just one bowl.

IMG_2102

And lastly if I am in a real rush I will toast a piece of rye bread with a bit of almond butter, I use biona organic pumpkin seed rye bread as it is by far one of the nicest rye bread I have found on the market. The bread is already pre-sliced which is great.

 

 

One thought on “The healthy breakfast craze

Leave a Reply

